The FLTWS Citizen Conservation Award


The Florida Chapter of The Wildlife Society is seeking nominations for the Citizen Conservation Award. The Citizen Conservation Award, which is sponsored by the Florida Master Naturalist Program (UF-IFAS), was created in 2010 to recognize individuals and groups who have made significant contributions to conservation of Florida’s wildlife resources. Achievements can be related to management, restoration, education, or protection. The person or group considered for this award does not have to be a member of the Florida or parent chapter of The Wildlife Society.

This award is intended for non-professionals and small, grassroots groups that have worked to achieve local or statewide conservation impacts. This award is not intended for professional activists, educators, resource managers, or scientists, nor is this award intended for organizations that hire paid staff. Although Florida TWS acknowledges the contributions of these types of professionals and organizations, the Citizen Conservation Award is intended to acknowledge important citizen contributions that often go unrecognized.

To submit a nomination, please visit our nomination submission form HERE.

Nominations will be accepted each year, but an award may not be conferred annually. Nominations received by December 1 will be considered by the Awards Committee and the Executive Board of the Florida Chapter of The Wildlife Society during its regularly scheduled Winter Board Meeting. The Awards Committee and Executive Board, acting as the Selection Committee, may confer a maximum of one award per year, to be presented at the Spring Membership meeting. Nominations will not be carried over from one year to the next, but may be resubmitted for consideration. Past winners are eligible to receive the award if they are nominated for a different accomplishment. The recipient will receive a decorative plaque from the Florida Chapter of The Wildlife Society.


2011: Mr. Jeremy Maines

2013: Friends of Thornby

2016: Vince Lamb

2017: Jacqueline Rolly

2019: Jane Schnee